Driving without Driving Privileges
Anyone in the state of Nevada who gets into a motor vehicle and operates it on a public roadway requires a driver’s license to do so legally. Any full-service Driver’s License location offers the opportunity to apply for a license if you don’t already have one. Remember, however, that driving is a privilege–not a right. This means that driving without a license is a criminal charge, and it may be in your best interest to hire a criminal defense lawyer to help you get your charges dismissed or reduced.
Caught Driving Without a License in Henderson?
Get Legal Help Today!
Contact Marchiano Law at 702-565-0473
You must meet certain criteria to hold a license, which means the privilege can be revoked. Conscientious drivers need to adhere to all driving regulations while also keeping up to date on any changes to the driving laws of Nevada, to new potential hazards, any recent construction or any other new changes that could affect your driving. Also, it’s important to keep alert and confident while driving in Nevada.
Reasons for a Nevada Driver’s License Suspension
If the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) suspends your driver’s license in Nevada, then you are no longer legally able to operate a motor vehicle in the state. You have the option to try and reinstate it, but it means meeting certain requirements first. In the state of Nevada, it is possible to lose your driver’s license for a number of reasons, such as:
- Earning too many points on your driving record
- Driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs (a DUI or DWI)
- Striking a pedestrian or cyclist with your vehicle
- Street racing
- Violating state laws regarding auto insurance
- Failing to maintain responsibility
- Failing to appear in court
Criminal Charges for Driving Without Driving a License in Nevada
Those who are caught driving with a revoked or suspended license in Nevada could be charged with a misdemeanor. In the state of Nevada, driving with a revoked licensed like driving without a license physically on your person. It can result in up to six months in jail and a $1,000 fine. Certain minimum penalties may also apply. For instance, if you were convicted of a DUI in the state of Nevada, there could be a minimum sentence of either a $500 fine or 30 days in jail.
Those who are convicted of driving a vehicle with revoked or suspended driving privileges could face an extension of the suspension or revocation.
Reinstating a Nevada Driver’s License
The length of revocation or suspension ultimately depends on why your privileges were revoked or suspended in the first place. It is critical not to drive without driving privileges since it can adversely affect your case moving forward. After the period has passed, it may be necessary to pay fees, such as a reinstatement fee, as well as meet certain criteria to drive once again legally. Depending on the reason for the suspension or revocation, the fee might be $75 or $120. You might not have to pay any costs if the surrender was voluntary for medical reasons. You may require proof of auto insurance at this stage as well.
Getting a Restricted Nevada Driver’s License
Under some circumstances, if you are not yet able to reinstate your full driver’s license, you could still qualify for a restricted driver’s license. With one of these, you are permitted to drive to and from work, school or the grocery store; and for work-related or medical reasons.
To apply for a restricted license, you’ll have to complete the appropriate application at the DMV and submit all required documents. This can be completed in person or by fax and physical mail.
Need A Nevada Attorney for Legal Help?
As should be clear by now, driving without a license, in any form or fashion, is a bad idea. There are fines, jail time and increased suspension and revocation involved. All of these consequences can have an adverse impact on your ability to attend school, maintain a job, acquire auto insurance and otherwise face other aspects of your life. Because of this, it’s an excellent idea to hire a Nevada attorney if you’re faced with driving without driving privileges. Although there are specific penalties for convictions under Nevada law, the local court system will help shape the sentence overall. You’ll need an attorney who knows how your area typically handles such charges to help get the best possible outcome.