DWI / DUI Defense Lawyer in Henderson
If you have been charged with a DUI in Henderson, NV, you may be worried about what might happen to you. You may have been told that you will lose your driving privileges and face hefty fines, criminal charges, and in extreme cases, even prison time. The best way to protect yourself is by working with a DUI attorney right away.
Arrested on a DUI or DWI in Henderson? Let Our DUI Defense Attorneys Help You.
Call today to speak to a lawyer about your case: (702) 565-0473 or fill out the form below.
What to Expect When You've Been Charged With DUI in Nevada
If you are charged with or arrested for a misdemeanor DUI or DWI in Henderson, your case will fall under the Henderson Municipal Court. If your case can be considered a gross misdemeanor or felony, it will be heard in Henderson Justice Court. Both courts are located at 243 South Water Street, Henderson, NV 89015. The Henderson Detention Center is at 18 E. Basic Rd. Henderson, NV 89015.
When to Call a DUI Lawyer
A DUI conviction can carry significant penalties, so you need someone on your side who knows how to defend against these charges. You should call a criminal defense lawyer at the first opportunity. Without adequate legal representation, you could be subject to the standard penalties under Nevada DUI laws. A lawyer will be able to review all aspects of your case to determine a defense designed to provide a better outcome for you.
Penalties for a DUI Offense in Henderson
The penalties for being convicted for driving under the influence can vary depending on the following factors.
First-Time DUI Offense
As long as your first DUI did not result in serious harm to another person, a first-time DUI offense is considered a misdemeanor in Nevada with standardized penalties. These include:
- • License Revocation — License suspension for 185 days
- • Jail Time — 2 days to 6 months in jail or 24 to 96 hours of community service
- • Fines — $400 to $1,000 in fines
- • Education — Attending a Nevada Victim Impact Panel and undergoing an 8-hour Nevada alcohol awareness program
- • Treatment Program — An evaluation of alcohol dependency if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) was more than 0.18% or if you were under 21 at the time of the incident
- • Ignition Interlock Device — Installing an ignition interlock device for up to 36 months if your BAC was more than 0.18%; otherwise, the court may ask for it to be installed for 3 to 6 months.
Additional DUI Offenses
If you are convicted of additional DUIs within a seven-year period, the punishments are much harsher. A second offense comes with 10 days to 6 months in jail or house arrest, a 1-year driver’s license suspension, and $750 to $1,000 in fines. Third offenses are considered a category B felony in Nevada, and offenders will be sentenced to 1 to 6 years in state prison, charged a $2,000 to $5,000 fine, and lose their driving privileges for three years.
DUIs Involving Injury or Death
In the event that you are charged with a Nevada DUI that led to the substantial injury or death of another individual, you could face severe punishments. This is a category B felony that is taken very seriously by the state of Nevada. Penalties include:
• License Revocation — 3-year revocation of your driver’s license
- • Jail Time — Anywhere from 2 to 20 years in state prison, depending on severity
- • Fines — $2,000 to $5,000 in fines
- • Education — Anywhere from 2 to 20 years in state prison, depending on severity
- • Ignition Interlock Device — An ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle for up to 36 months after release
You should also be aware that drivers with three previous DUI convictions who are later charged with a DUI involving the death of another person can actually be charged with vehicular homicide. This is a category A felony in Nevada that carries anywhere from 25 years to life in prison.
Protect Your Rights With a Henderson DUI Attorney
From losing your license to heavy fees and even jail time, a DUI charge has the potential to negatively impact your life for many years to come. At Marchiano Law, we represent clients in Nevada who have been charged with driving under the influence, and we will work hard on your behalf. Our goal is to find the evidence that we need to get your case dismissed or to obtain a lesser charge so that you can move forward. When your future is on the line, you want high-quality legal representation from experienced DUI lawyers. Call our law office today to schedule your free consultation.